Tag: 8 limbs of yoga

Pratyahara: withdrawl of the sense, one of the 8 limbs of yoga | Katia Yoga

8 Limbs of Yoga: Pratyhara: Withdrawl from the Senses

The 8 Limbs of Yoga act as a guide for yogis on how to behave and as inspiration for how yogis should view the world.  The 5th of the Limbs is Pratyhara or withdrawl of the senses.  Pratyhara can be broken into two words in sanskrit: prati (meaning away or against) and "ahara" (which roughly translates as things taken from...Read More
Complete Guide to Pranayama, meaning breath control (one of the 8 limbs of yoga): 8 different types of pranayama: how to do each one and benefits #pranayama #breath

Guide to the 8 Limbs of Yoga: Pranayama: breathing

Pranayama means breath control or breath expansion.  It is the 4th of the 8 Limbs of Yoga.  Prana means life force or vital energy.  Yama means control or code of conduct.  Actually, pranayama is a combination of prana and ayama.  Ayama means expansion so pranayama is a way to expand your vital energy and vibrate on a higher frequency. [Just so you...Read More
Guide to the 8 Limbs of Yoga: Asana. Learn about the origins of yoga poses and how asana can be incorporated with other aspects to fully experience "yoga" history, theory and philosophy. #yogasana #asana

Guide to the 8 Limbs of Yoga: Asana: history, theory and philosophy

The third and most well-known limb of the 8 limbs of yoga is asana.  This means all of those yoga poses—the physical practice of making all of those shapes with your body.  In the West, asana often is yoga.  We sometimes forget about the other 7 branches. [Just so you know, this post contains affiliate links] When yoga first started,...Read More
Guide to Understanding the 8 limbs of Yoga

Guide to the 8 Limbs of Yoga: Niyamas: how to treat yourself

The first of the 8 limbs of yoga, the Yamas, have to do with the way we behave in the world.  The second limb are the Niyamas, which deal with the way that we that we treat ourselves; how we behave in relationship to personal actions and outlooks.  There are 5 Niyamas. Saucha is translated as purification or cleanliness. This...Read More
Guide to Understanding the 8 limbs of Yoga

Guide to the 8 Limbs of Yoga: Yamas: how to behave in the world

In modern Western Yoga, we tend to focus on the physical side of yoga, mostly practicing the yoga poses, or asanas.  But the asanas are actually fairly new to the practice of yoga AND they're only one of the eight (ashta) limbs (anga).  In other words, there's a lot more to think about when we talk about yoga, like the...Read More